and I run

I am a runner.

Well, no.  I want to be a runner.  I run.  I guess that’s more accurate.  I have such trouble identifying myself as a runner because I often don’t take it seriously. There’s a lot of people in my life that can vouch for this, too.  Anyone from high school reading this?  I whined at every drill forced upon us during soccer practice.  Hey college friends- remember that brief period where I vowed to run a marathon?  I didn’t get through the first two weeks of training before giving up.  I followed this pattern for a long time.

Then I moved to Philadelphia.  Guess what? City gyms are INSANELY expensive (especially when I was making hostess/grad student wages).  I wanted to get in better shape, and I thought running was the cheapest form of exercise I could start.

I knew I needed serious motivation, so I quickly signed up for the half-marathon that was five months away (at the time, I was running around 5 miles a week).  I trained hard and finished the race.  I have never been so proud of myself for accomplishing anything and knew I needed to continue.  I ran a 10k a few weeks later (more for the cash raffle at the end) but soon slowed down my pace.  In fact, I haven’t ran in almost a month because of the cold and snow.

Here’s where you come in, reader.  I  signed up for the Broad Street Run (10 miles) AND joined a team running a very serious 200 mile relay in upstate New York (read: hills).  These races are two weeks apart from each other.  There is no delaying this anymore.  I need to train.  You need to bully me into doing so.  Do I look fat or lazy?  Tell me.  Maybe that’s how I’ll be able to see myself as a runner- keep me going.

Coming up: I’ll write about my potentially life-changing experience running in Vibram FiveFingers.  Look elsewhere for the scientific data behind this philosophy, but know that I support it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to and I run

  1. Jason says:

    How’s this for a sad story… I USED to be a runner. High school. Cross Country and long distance events during Track season. I even ran the 800… a 1/2 mile at top speed. I was pretty good for a 110 pound white boy from Pennsauken… but not great… but I loved it. Every second of it. The “runner’s high”… the pain of recovery… the personal and inter-personal challenges.
    Skateboarding replaced running… then the skateboarding stopped (around 26).
    Now, 9 years later, nothing… and there’s not even a desire.
    Sad really.
    If I start running now I think my heart would explode before I got 100 yards.

    As for you being lazy or… the dreaded “F” word… I haven’t seen you in a while darling but somehow I highly doubt either one would apply. Those adjectives are reserved for old folks like me.

    Go get ’em tiger!!

    Jason

  2. Darcy Lefroy says:

    Have to catch up on your posts, but I’ve added your blog to my blogroll. 🙂 Will comment later on today.

  3. Darcy Lefroy says:

    I love your motivation to want to stick with these goals! I’m at a similar point in my life so I know how important it is to want to be able to stick with these commitments no matter how difficult they may be. In my opinion, it seems like you’ve already knocked out several important benchmarks, those being the 5k & 10k runs and the commitment you made to training for those two marathons. “I have never been so proud of myself for accomplishing anything and knew I needed to continue.” — these are you’re very own words of motivation, so no, you don’t look fat or lazy.

    One thing I know about you is that you’re more of a laid back person, therefore I think what’s imperative to sticking with this commitment is incorporating your desire to run with your current lifestyle. You can be as motivated and determined as you’d like but the only way you’re going to benefit from this is through collaboration and adaptation.

    I don’t know if this will help at all, but whatever you do — keep running!!

Leave a Reply

